Faculty

All Faculty

Biomagnetism

Ronald T. Wakai

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Chair, Medical Physics Admissions Committee
Professor (tenure)

Email: rtwakai@wisc.edu

Diagnostic X-Ray Imaging

Beverly Aagaard Kientiz

Credentials: M.D

Position title: Professor, Department of Neuroradiology

Email: BAagaard-Kienitz@uwhealth.org

GuangHong Chen

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Professor, CT imaging (Also Radiology)

Email: gchen7@wisc.edu

John Garrett

Credentials: Ph.D

Position title: Assistant Professor (CHS), Director of Informatics, Department of Radiology

Email: JGarrett@uwhealth.org

Ke Li

Credentials: Ph.D

Position title: Associate Professor, Medical Physics and Radiology

Email: kli23@wisc.edu

Jessica Miller

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Assistant Professor (CHS)

Email: miller@humonc.wisc.edu

Charles A. Mistretta

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics, Radiology, and Biomedical Engineering

Email: camistre@facstaff.wisc.edu

Walter W. Peppler

Credentials: Ph.D

Position title: Emeritus Professor (CHS), Medical Physics and Radiology

Email: wpeppler@wisc.edu

Frank N. Ranallo

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Director, Medical Imaging Residency Program
Professor (CHS)

Email: ranallo@wisc.edu

Michael A. Speidel

Credentials: Ph.D

Position title: Associate Professor, Medical Physics Technical Director, UWHC Cardiac Catheterization Laboratory
Vice Chair of the Faculty

Email: speidel@wisc.edu

Timothy P. Szczykutowicz

Credentials: Ph.D

Position title: Associate Professor (CHS), Medical Physics, Radiology, and Biomedical Engineering

Email: tszczykutowicz@uwhealth.org

Michael Van Lysel

Credentials: Ph.D

Position title: Emeritus Professor

Email: vanlysel@wisc.edu

John R. Vetter

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Director of Radiological Physics Services
Associate Professor (CHS)

Email: jrvetter@wisc.edu

M.R.I

Andrew L. Alexander

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Professor, Medical Physics and Psychiatry; Director of MRI Imaging, Waisman Lab for Brain Imaging and Behavior

Email: alalexander2@wisc.edu

Tobey Betthauser

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: tjbetthauser@medicine.wisc.edu

Rasmus Birn

Credentials: Ph.D

Position title: Associate Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Medical Physics

Email: rbirn@wisc.edu

Walter F. Block

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Vice Chair for Mentorship, Diversity, and Strategic Collaborations
Professor, MRI Imaging

Email: wfblock@wisc.edu

David Bluemke

Credentials: MD, PHD, MSB

Position title: Professor (CHS)

Email: DBluemke@uwhealth.org

Carri Glide-Hurst

Credentials: Ph.D., DABR, FAAPM

Position title: Visiting Associate Professor

Email: glidehurst@humonc.wisc.edu

Thomas Grist

Credentials: M.D

Position title: Professor, Chair of Department of Radiology

Email: TGrist@uwhealth.org

Diego Hernando

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Assistant Professor, Department of Radiology

Email: DHernando@uwhealth.org

Kevin M. Johnson

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Assistant Professor (tenure), MRI Imaging

Email: kmjohnson3@wisc.edu

Frank Korosec

Credentials: Ph.D

Position title: Professor, Director of Research Resources, Imaging Sciences

Email: FKorosec@uwhealth.org

Alan McMillan

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Associate Professor (CHS)

Email: AMcmillan@uwhealth.org

M. Elizabeth Meyerand

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Professor

Email: memeyerand@wisc.edu

Charles A. Mistretta

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics, Radiology, and Biomedical Engineering

Email: camistre@facstaff.wisc.edu

Scott Nagle

Credentials: M.D, Ph.D

Position title: Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

Email: SNagle@uwhealth.org

ALI PIRASTEH

Credentials: MD

Position title: CLINICAL ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
Associate Chief, MRI, Co-director, PET/MRI

Email: APirasteh@uwhealth.org

Vivek Prabhakaran

Credentials: M.D, Ph.D

Position title: Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

Email: VPrabhakaran@uwhealth.org

Scott Reeder

Credentials: M.D, Ph.D

Position title: Professor, Chief, MRI LIRP Director

Email: sreeder@wisc.edu

Lonie Salkowski

Credentials: M.D, Ph.D

Position title: Professor, Department of Radiology

Email: LSalkowski@uwhealth.org

Roberta Strigel

Credentials: M.D, Ph.D

Position title: Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

Email: RStrigel@uwhealth.org

Andrew Wentland

Credentials: M.D., Ph.D.

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: AWentland@uwhealth.org

Oliver Wieben

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Vice Chair for Research
Professor

Email: owieben@wisc.edu

Poonam Yadav

Credentials: PhD

Position title: Assistant Professor (CHS)

Email: yadav@humonc.wisc.edu

Nuclear Medicine, PET, Molecular Imaging

Weibo Cai

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor with tenure of Radiology & Medical Physics

Email: wcai@uwhealth.org

Bradley T. Christian

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Director of PET Physics, Waisman Brain Imaging Laboratory Professor of Medical Physics and Psychiatry

Email: bchristian@wisc.edu

Onofre T. DeJesus

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics

Email: odejesus@wisc.edu

Paul Ellison

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Assistant Professor, Medical Physics

Email: paellison@wisc.edu

Marina E. Emborg

Credentials: Ph.D., M.D.

Position title: Professor , Medical Physics

Jonathan W. Engle

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Assistant Professor, Medical Physics and Radiology

Email: jwengle@wisc.edu

Amy Fowler

Credentials: M.D, Ph.D

Position title: Assistant Professor, Department of Radiology

Email: AFowler@uwhealth.org

Reinier Hernandez

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Assistant Professor, Medical Physics

Email: hernandez6@wisc.edu

James E. Holden

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics

Email: jeholden@wisc.edu

Robert Jeraj

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Professor (tenure), Medical Physics

Email: rjeraj@wisc.edu

R. Jerry Nickles

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics

Email: rnickles@wisc.edu

Jamey Weichert

Credentials: Ph.D

Position title: Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

Email: JWeichert@uwhealth.org

Optical Imaging

Paul Campagnola

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Professor Optical imaging (Also Biomedical Engineering)

Kevin Eliceiri

Credentials: PhD

Position title: RRF Walter H. Helmerich Professor of Medical Physics (also Biomedical Engineering)

Email: eliceiri@wisc.edu

Brian Pogue

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Chair of Medical Physics
Director, Graduate Medical Physics Program
Professor

Email: bpogue@wisc.edu

Jeremy Rogers

Credentials: Ph.D

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: jdrogers5@wisc.edu

Melissa Skala

Credentials: Ph.D

Position title: Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

Email: mcskala@wisc.edu

Radiation and Thermal Therapy

Christopher Brace

Credentials: Ph.D

Position title: Associate Chair of Graduate Admissions and Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

Email: clbrace@wisc.edu

Sean Frigo

Credentials: Ph.D

Position title: Assistant Professor, Department of Human Oncology

Email: frigo@humonc.wisc.edu

Paul Harari

Credentials: M.D

Position title: Professor, Chairman, Department of Human Oncology

Email: harari@humonc.wisc.edu

Randall Kimple

Credentials: M.D, Ph.D

Position title: Associate Professor, Department of Human Oncology

Email: rkimple@humonc.wisc.edu

Glenn Liu

Credentials: M.D

Position title: Professor

Email: gxl@medicine.wisc.edu

T. Rockwell Mackie

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Board of Visitors Vice Chair
Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics and Human Oncology; Director, Medical Devices Focus Area, Morgridge Institute for Research

Email: trmackie@wisc.edu

Bhudatt R. Paliwal

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Emeritus Professor, Human Oncology and Medical Physics

Email: paliwal@humonc.wisc.edu

Brian Pogue

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Chair of Medical Physics
Director, Graduate Medical Physics Program
Professor

Email: bpogue@wisc.edu

Jennifer B. Smilowitz

Credentials: Ph.D., DABR

Position title: Clinical Professor of Medical Physics and Human Oncology

Email: smilowitz@humonc.wisc.edu

Bruce R. Thomadsen

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics

Email: brthomad@wisc.edu

Ultrasound Imaging

Timothy J Hall

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Program Director, UW Radiological Sciences Training Program
Professor

Email: tjhall@wisc.edu

Mark Kliewer

Credentials: M.D

Position title: Professor Chief, Ultrasound

Email: MKliewer@uwhealth.org

Ernest L. Madsen

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics

Email: elmadsen@wisc.edu

Carol Mitchell

Credentials: Ph.D

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: ccm@medicine.wisc.edu

Ivan Rosado-Mendez

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: rosadomendez@wisc.edu

Tomy Varghese

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Chair of the Graduate Committee
Professor

Email: tvarghese@wisc.edu

James A. Zagzebski

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Emeritus Professor

Email: jazagzeb@wisc.edu

Radiation Dosimetry and Protection

Bryan P. Bednarz

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Associate Professor with tenure, Medical Physics and Human Oncology

Email: bbednarz2@wisc.edu

Wesley Culberson

Credentials: PhD, DABR, FAAPM

Position title:

Assistant Professor (CHS)

Director, University of Wisconsin Accredited Dosimetry Calibration Laboratory (UWADCL)

Assistant Director, University of Wisconsin Medical Radiation Research Center (UWMRRC)

Email: wsculberson@wisc.edu

Paul M. DeLuca, Jr.

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Board of Visitors Chair, Emeritus Professor, Emeritus Provost

Email: pmdeluca@wisc.edu

Larry A. DeWerd

Credentials: Ph.D.

Position title: Professor (tenure)

Email: ladewerd@wisc.edu

Douglass Henderson

Credentials: Ph.D

Position title: Harvey D. Spangler Department Chair Professor, Department of Engineering Physics

Email: henderson@engr.wisc.edu