University of Wisconsin–Madison

Faculty

Faculty

Full-time Faculty

Andrew L. Alexander

Ph.D.

Professor, Medical Physics and Psychiatry; Director of MRI Imaging, Waisman Lab for Brain Imaging and Behavior

alalexander2@wisc.edu

Todd E. Barnhart

Ph.D.

Senior Scientist, Director of PET Cyclotron Physics

tebarnhart@wisc.edu

Bryan P. Bednarz

Ph.D.

Associate Professor with tenure, Medical Physics and Human Oncology

bbednarz2@wisc.edu

Walter F. Block

Ph.D.

Professor, MRI Imaging

wfblock@wisc.edu

Weibo Cai

Ph.D.

Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor with tenure of Radiology & Medical Physics

wcai@uwhealth.org

Paul Campagnola

Ph.D.

Professor Optical imaging (Also Biomedical Engineering)

GuangHong Chen

Ph.D.

Professor, CT imaging (Also Radiology)

gchen7@wisc.edu

Bradley T. Christian

Ph.D.

Director of PET Physics, Waisman Brain Imaging Laboratory Professor of Medical Physics and Psychiatry

bchristian@wisc.edu

Wesley Culberson

Ph.D., DABR

Director, University of Wisconsin Accredited Dosimetry Calibration Laboratory (UWADCL)
Assistant Director, University of Wisconsin Medical Radiation Research Center (UWMRRC)
Assistant Professor (CHS)
Medical Physics Research Director, UW Medical Radiation Research Center

wsculberson@wisc.edu

Onofre T. DeJesus

Ph.D.

Professor (tenure), Medical Physics

odjesus@wisc.edu

Paul M. DeLuca, Jr.

Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics, Radiology, Human Oncology, Biomedical Engineering, and Engineering Physics

pmdeluca@wisc.edu

Larry A. DeWerd

Ph.D.

Professor (tenure)

ladewerd@wisc.edu

Marina E. Emborg

Ph.D., M.D.

Associate Professor (tenure), Medical Physics

Jonathan W. Engle

Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Medical Physics and Radiology

jwengle@wisc.edu

Sean B. Fain

Ph.D.

Professor with tenure and Director of the Image Analysis Core Facility, MRI and CT Imaging

sfain@wisc.edu

Timothy J Hall

Ph.D.

Professor of Medical Physics (Tenured), Vice Chair for Faculty, Program Director of the UW Radiological Sciences Training program

tjhall@wisc.edu

James E. Holden

Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics

jeholden@wisc.edu

Edward Jackson

Ph.D.

Department Chair
Director, Graduate Medical Physics Program

efjackson@wisc.edu

Robert Jeraj

Ph.D.

Professor (tenure), Medical Physics

rjeraj@wisc.edu

Kevin M. Johnson

Ph.D.

Assistant Professor (tenure), MRI Imaging

kmjohnson3@wisc.edu

Ke Li

Ph.D

Assistant Professor, Medical Physics and Radiology

kli23@wisc.edu

T. Rockwell Mackie

Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics and Human Oncology; Director, Medical Devices Focus Area, Morgridge Institute for Research

trmackie@wisc.edu

Ernest L. Madsen

Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics

elmadsen@wisc.edu

Charles A. Mistretta

Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics, Radiology, and Biomedical Engineering

camistre@facstaff.wisc.edu

R. Jerry Nickles

Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics

rnickles@wisc.edu

Bhudatt R. Paliwal

Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor, Human Oncology and Medical Physics

paliwal@humonc.wisc.edu

Walter W. Peppler

Ph.D

Professor (CHS), Medical Physics and Radiology

wpeppler@wisc.edu

Frank N. Ranallo

Ph.D.

Director of Residency Programs
Associate Professor (CHS)

ranallo@wisc.edu

Jennifer B. Smilowitz

Ph.D., DABR

Clinical Associate Professor of Medical Physics and Human Oncology

smilowitz@humonc.wisc.edu

James A. Sorenson

Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor

jasorens@wisc.edu

Micheal A. Speidel

Ph.D

Assistant Professor, Medical Physics Technical Director, UWHC Cardiac Catheterization Laboratory

speidel@wisc.edu

Timothy P. Szczykutowicz

Ph.D

Assistant Professor (CHS), Medical Physics, Radiology, and Biomedical Engineering

tszczykutowicz@uwhealth.org

Bruce R. Thomadsen

Ph.D.

Professor (tenure), Medical Physics

brthomad@wisc.edu

Tomy Varghese

Ph.D.

Chair of the Graduate Committee
Professor

tvarghese@wisc.edu

John R. Vetter

Ph.D.

Director of Radiological Physics Services
Associate Professor (CHS)

jrvetter@wisc.edu

Ronald T. Wakai

Ph.D.

Chair, Medical Physics Admissions Committee
Professor

rtwakai@wisc.edu

Oliver Wieben

Ph.D.

Vice Chair for Research
Associate Professor

owieben@wisc.edu

Affiliate Faculty

BEVERLY AAGAARD KIENITZ

M.D

Professor, Department of Neuroradiology

BAagaard-Kienitz@uwhealth.org

SCOTT B REEDER

M.D, Ph.D

Professor, Chief, MRI LIRP Director

sreeder@wisc.edu

Adam Bayliss

Ph.D

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR

John Bayouth

Ph.D

PROFESSOR AND CHIEF OF PHYSICS

RASMUS BIRN

Ph.D

Associate Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Medical Physics

rbirn@wisc.edu

Jeremy D. Rogers

Ph.D

Assistant Professor

jdrogers5@wisc.edu

RUPAK DAS

Ph.D

Professor, Department of Human Oncology

Kevin Eliceiri

Director, Laboratory for Optical and Computational Instrumentation

eliceiri@wisc.edu

AMY FOWLER

M.D, Ph.D

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR, Department of Radiology

AFowler@uwhealth.org

Sean Frigo

Ph.D

Assistant Professor, Department of Human Oncology

John Garrett

Ph.D

Assistant Professor (CHS), Director of Informatics, Department of Radiology

JGarrett@uwhealth.org

Paul Harari

M.D

Professor, Chairman, Department of Human Oncology

Douglass Henderson

Ph.D

Harvey D. Spangler Department Chair Professor, Department of Engineering Physics

henderson@engr.wisc.edu

Randall J. Kimple

M.D, Ph.D

Associate Professor, Department of Human Oncology

MARK A KLIEWER

M.D

PROFESSOR Chief, Ultrasound

MKliewer@uwhealth.org

FRANK KOROSEC

Ph.D

Professor, Director of Research Resources, Imaging Sciences

FKorosec@uwhealth.org

Christopher L. Brace

Ph.D

Associate Chair of Graduate Admissions and Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

clbrace@wisc.edu

Glenn Liu

M.D

Professor

THOMAS M GRIST

M.D

Professor, Chair of Department of Radiology

TGrist@uwhealth.org

SCOTT NAGLE

M.D, Ph.D

Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

SNagle@uwhealth.org

Sarah Patch

Ph.D

Associate Professor, Department of Physics, UW-Milwaukee

patchs@uwm.edu

VIVEK PRABHAKARAN

M.D, Ph.D

Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

VPrabhakaran@uwhealth.org

MARK RITTER

M.D, Ph.D

Professor Emeritus, Department of Human Oncology

LONIE SALKOWSKI

M.D, Ph.D

Professor, Department of Radiology

LSalkowski@uwhealth.org

Melissa Skala

Ph.D

Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

mcskala@wisc.edu

ROBERTA STRIGEL

M.D, Ph.D

Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

RStrigel@uwhealth.org

Dinesh Tewatia

Ph.D

Assistant Professor, Department of Human Oncology

PATRICK TURSKI

M.D

Professor, Department of Radiology

PTurski@uwhealth.org

JAMEY WEICHERT

Ph.D

Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

JWeichert@uwhealth.org

STEVE Y CHO

M.D

Associate Professor, Department of Nuclear Medicine

SCho@uwhealth.org

Staff

Carol Aspinwall

Educational Programs Coordinator

caaspinwall@wisc.edu

Clint Colby

Financial Specialist

ccolby@wisc.edu

Edward Jackson

Ph.D.

Department Chair
Director, Graduate Medical Physics Program

efjackson@wisc.edu

Kymmy Lomax

Financial Specialist Senior

lomax2@wisc.edu

Coreen Marklein

Payroll & Benefit Specialist Advanced

cmarklein@wisc.edu

Amy Martens

MBA

Director of Operations

aemartens@wisc.edu

Mary Paskey

Research Administrator

mpaskey@wisc.edu

Devyn Prielipp

Human Resources Business Partner

dprielipp@wisc.edu

Biomagnetism

Ronald T. Wakai

Ph.D.

Chair, Medical Physics Admissions Committee
Professor

rtwakai@wisc.edu

Diagnostic X-Ray Imaging

GuangHong Chen

Ph.D.

Professor, CT imaging (Also Radiology)

gchen7@wisc.edu

Ke Li

Ph.D

Assistant Professor, Medical Physics and Radiology

kli23@wisc.edu

Charles A. Mistretta

Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics, Radiology, and Biomedical Engineering

camistre@facstaff.wisc.edu

Walter W. Peppler

Ph.D

Professor (CHS), Medical Physics and Radiology

wpeppler@wisc.edu

Micheal A. Speidel

Ph.D

Assistant Professor, Medical Physics Technical Director, UWHC Cardiac Catheterization Laboratory

speidel@wisc.edu

Timothy P. Szczykutowicz

Ph.D

Assistant Professor (CHS), Medical Physics, Radiology, and Biomedical Engineering

tszczykutowicz@uwhealth.org

John R. Vetter

Ph.D.

Director of Radiological Physics Services
Associate Professor (CHS)

jrvetter@wisc.edu

Affiliate Faculty

BEVERLY AAGAARD KIENITZ

M.D

Professor, Department of Neuroradiology

BAagaard-Kienitz@uwhealth.org

John Garrett

Ph.D

Assistant Professor (CHS), Director of Informatics, Department of Radiology

JGarrett@uwhealth.org

FRANK KOROSEC

Ph.D

Professor, Director of Research Resources, Imaging Sciences

FKorosec@uwhealth.org

Sarah Patch

Ph.D

Associate Professor, Department of Physics, UW-Milwaukee

patchs@uwm.edu

Magnetic Resonance Imaging

Andrew L. Alexander

Ph.D.

Professor, Medical Physics and Psychiatry; Director of MRI Imaging, Waisman Lab for Brain Imaging and Behavior

alalexander2@wisc.edu

Walter F. Block

Ph.D.

Professor, MRI Imaging

wfblock@wisc.edu

Sean B. Fain

Ph.D.

Professor with tenure and Director of the Image Analysis Core Facility, MRI and CT Imaging

sfain@wisc.edu

Edward Jackson

Ph.D.

Department Chair
Director, Graduate Medical Physics Program

efjackson@wisc.edu

Kevin M. Johnson

Ph.D.

Assistant Professor (tenure), MRI Imaging

kmjohnson3@wisc.edu

Charles A. Mistretta

Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics, Radiology, and Biomedical Engineering

camistre@facstaff.wisc.edu

Oliver Wieben

Ph.D.

Vice Chair for Research
Associate Professor

owieben@wisc.edu

Affiliate Faculty

SCOTT B REEDER

M.D, Ph.D

Professor, Chief, MRI LIRP Director

sreeder@wisc.edu

RASMUS BIRN

Ph.D

Associate Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Medical Physics

rbirn@wisc.edu

Diego Hernando

Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Radiology

DHernando@uwhealth.org

THOMAS M GRIST

M.D

Professor, Chair of Department of Radiology

TGrist@uwhealth.org

SCOTT NAGLE

M.D, Ph.D

Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

SNagle@uwhealth.org

VIVEK PRABHAKARAN

M.D, Ph.D

Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

VPrabhakaran@uwhealth.org

LONIE SALKOWSKI

M.D, Ph.D

Professor, Department of Radiology

LSalkowski@uwhealth.org

ROBERTA STRIGEL

M.D, Ph.D

Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

RStrigel@uwhealth.org

PATRICK TURSKI

M.D

Professor, Department of Radiology

PTurski@uwhealth.org

NUCLEAR MEDICINE, PET, MOLECULAR IMAGING

Weibo Cai

Ph.D.

Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor with tenure of Radiology & Medical Physics

wcai@uwhealth.org

Bradley T. Christian

Ph.D.

Director of PET Physics, Waisman Brain Imaging Laboratory Professor of Medical Physics and Psychiatry

bchristian@wisc.edu

Onofre T. DeJesus

Ph.D.

Professor (tenure), Medical Physics

odjesus@wisc.edu

Marina E. Emborg

Ph.D., M.D.

Associate Professor (tenure), Medical Physics

Jonathan W. Engle

Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Medical Physics and Radiology

jwengle@wisc.edu

James E. Holden

Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics

jeholden@wisc.edu

Robert Jeraj

Ph.D.

Professor (tenure), Medical Physics

rjeraj@wisc.edu

R. Jerry Nickles

Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics

rnickles@wisc.edu

Affliate Faculty

AMY FOWLER

M.D, Ph.D

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR, Department of Radiology

AFowler@uwhealth.org

MARK RITTER

M.D, Ph.D

Professor Emeritus, Department of Human Oncology

JAMEY WEICHERT

Ph.D

Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

JWeichert@uwhealth.org

STEVE Y CHO

M.D

Associate Professor, Department of Nuclear Medicine

SCho@uwhealth.org

Optical Imaging

Paul Campagnola

Ph.D.

Professor Optical imaging (Also Biomedical Engineering)

Affiliate Faculty

Jeremy D. Rogers

Ph.D

Assistant Professor

jdrogers5@wisc.edu

Kevin Eliceiri

Director, Laboratory for Optical and Computational Instrumentation

eliceiri@wisc.edu

Melissa Skala

Ph.D

Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

mcskala@wisc.edu

RADIATION AND THERMAL THERAPY

T. Rockwell Mackie

Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics and Human Oncology; Director, Medical Devices Focus Area, Morgridge Institute for Research

trmackie@wisc.edu

Bhudatt R. Paliwal

Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor, Human Oncology and Medical Physics

paliwal@humonc.wisc.edu

Jennifer B. Smilowitz

Ph.D., DABR

Clinical Associate Professor of Medical Physics and Human Oncology

smilowitz@humonc.wisc.edu

Bruce R. Thomadsen

Ph.D.

Professor (tenure), Medical Physics

brthomad@wisc.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Adam Bayliss

Ph.D

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR

John Bayouth

Ph.D

PROFESSOR AND CHIEF OF PHYSICS

RUPAK DAS

Ph.D

Professor, Department of Human Oncology

Sean Frigo

Ph.D

Assistant Professor, Department of Human Oncology

Paul Harari

M.D

Professor, Chairman, Department of Human Oncology

Randall J. Kimple

M.D, Ph.D

Associate Professor, Department of Human Oncology

Christopher L. Brace

Ph.D

Associate Chair of Graduate Admissions and Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

clbrace@wisc.edu

Glenn Liu

M.D

Professor

Dinesh Tewatia

Ph.D

Assistant Professor, Department of Human Oncology

Ultrasound Imaging

Timothy J Hall

Ph.D.

Professor of Medical Physics (Tenured), Vice Chair for Faculty, Program Director of the UW Radiological Sciences Training program

tjhall@wisc.edu

Ernest L. Madsen

Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics

elmadsen@wisc.edu

Tomy Varghese

Ph.D.

Chair of the Graduate Committee
Professor

tvarghese@wisc.edu

Affiliate Faculty

MARK A KLIEWER

M.D

PROFESSOR Chief, Ultrasound

MKliewer@uwhealth.org

RADIATION DOSIMETRY AND PROTECTION

Bryan P. Bednarz

Ph.D.

Associate Professor with tenure, Medical Physics and Human Oncology

bbednarz2@wisc.edu

Wesley Culberson

Ph.D., DABR

Director, University of Wisconsin Accredited Dosimetry Calibration Laboratory (UWADCL)
Assistant Director, University of Wisconsin Medical Radiation Research Center (UWMRRC)
Assistant Professor (CHS)
Medical Physics Research Director, UW Medical Radiation Research Center

wsculberson@wisc.edu

Paul M. DeLuca, Jr.

Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor, Medical Physics, Radiology, Human Oncology, Biomedical Engineering, and Engineering Physics

pmdeluca@wisc.edu

Larry A. DeWerd

Ph.D.

Professor (tenure)

ladewerd@wisc.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Douglass Henderson

Ph.D

Harvey D. Spangler Department Chair Professor, Department of Engineering Physics

henderson@engr.wisc.edu